Volume 77 / Number 27 - December 05 - 11, 2007
West and East Village, Chelsea, Soho, Noho, Little Italy, Chinatown and Lower East Side, Since 1933

"Support businesses and organizations that support The Villager"

Villager photo by Jefferson Siegel

Four Finest and hero auxiliaries are Cops of Year

At the Greenwich Village-Chelsea Chamber of Commerce’s Cop of the Year Awards on Nov. 28, the chamber honored the four Sixth Precinct officers who responded first on March 14 after crazed gunman David Garvin went on a deadly shooting rampage in the South Village. The four officers caught up with Garvin, cornering him in the Village Tannery store at Bleecker and Sullivan Sts., then killed him in a ferocious shootout. Above, from left: Dirk McCall, G.V.C.C.C. executive director, Officer Arthur Leahy, Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer, Officer David Sansone, Officer Raquel Warburton, Officer Andrew Stimus and James Hart, chairperson of the chamber’s board of directors. Also honored, with their names listed first on the Cop of the Year plaque, were late Sixth Precinct Auxiliary Officers Nicholas Pekearo and Yevgeniy (“Eugene”) Marshalik. Garvin began his bloody spree by murdering Alfredo Romero Morales, a worker at the former DeMarco’s restaurant at MacDougal and Houston Sts. Radioing in the shooter’s description and tailing him as he tried to flee up Sullivan St., the unarmed patrol partners were, in turn, gunned down by Garrin. Their deaths led the city to make bullet-resistant vests standard issue for all auxiliary officers.

Reader Services


Email our editor

Electrical Contracting

"A Passion For Excellence"

The Villager is published by Community Media LLC. 145 Sixth Avenue, New York, NY 10013
Phone: (212) 229-1890 | Fax: (212) 229-2790 | Advertising: 646-452-2465 | © 2007 Community Media, LLC

Written permission of the publisher must be obtained before any of the contents of this newspaper, in whole or in part, can be reproduced or redistributed.