West and East Village, Chelsea, Soho, Noho, Little Italy, Chinatown and Lower East Side, Since 1933
Volume 77, Number 19 | October 10 - 16, 2007

DANCE

IMPROVISED DANCE MUSIC Michael Travis and Jason Hann, pictured above, of EOTO create a completely improvised evening of dance music using cutting edge technology and live drums. Ripplegroove & Digital Frontier will also perform. Sat., Oct. 13. Doors open at 7pm. LION’S DEN, 214 Sullivan St., bet Bleecker & W. 3rd St. 212-477-2782. $12 advance, $15 at the door.

Center for Remembering and Sharing123 4th Ave, 2nd floor, 10th Street, 212-352-3101: HEATHER HARPHAM & CASSIE TERMAN, “This Could Be Us,” an evening of improvisation, dance and narration. Fri. – Sat., Oct. 12-13 at 8pm. $15.

Dixon Place258 Bowery, 2nd floor, 212-219-0736: BODY BLEND, Curated by Isabel Lewis featuring Ray Roy, Sasha Welsh, Diana Crum, Marc Micronimes. Tues., Oct. 16 at 8pm. $12/TDF. SIDESHOW, Christopher Hutchings & dancers. Fri. – Sat., Oct. 19-20 at 7, 8 & 8:45pm. $12/TDF.

Joyce Theater175 8th Ave. at 19th St., 212-242-0800: PAMINA DEVI, “A Cambodian Magic Flute,” Cambodian classical dance and music with 32 dancers, musicians and singers. Wed., Oct. 10 at 7:30pm; Thurs. – Sat., Oct. 11-13 at 8pm; Sun., Oct. 14 at 7:30pm; Sat. – Sun., Oct. 13-14 at 3pm. $44; Sunday evening $25. JAMES SWELL BALLET, Three premieres – “Kinetic Head,” solo for Sewell; “Opera Moves” based on scenes from 11 operas; “Schoenberg Serenades” to Schoenberg music. Tues. – Wed., Oct. 16-17 at 7:30pm; Thurs. – Sat., Oct. 8-20 at 8pm; Sun., Oct. 21 at 7:30pm; Sat. – Sun., Oct. 20-21 at 2pm. $40, Sunday evenings $25. BALLET DU GRAND THEATRE DE GENEVE, NY debut. “Salon desir” to Bach’s St. Matthew & St. John Passions; “Para-Dice” & “Lain.” Tues. – Wed., Oct. 23-24 at 7:30pm; Thurs. – Sat., Oct. 25-27 at 8pm; Sat. – Sun., Oct. 27-28 at 2pm. $40.

Judson Memorial Church55 Washington Square South, Meeting Hall, 212-598-0551: MOVEMENT RESEARCH, Irem Calikusu, Barbara Mahler, Jimena Paz. Mon., Oct. 15 at 8pm. Free. Also, Kimberly Bartosik, Eleanor Bauer & Ashley Friend. Mon., Oct. 22 at 8pm. Free.

Wow Cafe Theater59 E. 4th St. at Bowery, 347-968-6810: BE HERE NOW, 8 vignettes. Multi-media performance. Thurs. – Sat., Oct. 11-13 at 8pm. $12-18.


Reader Services




thevillager.com



Email our editor




The Villager is published by Community Media LLC. 145 Sixth Avenue, New York, NY 10013
Phone: (212) 229-1890 | Fax: (212) 229-2790 | Advertising: 646-452-2465 | © 2007 Community Media, LLC



Written permission of the publisher must be obtained before any of the contents of this newspaper, in whole or in part, can be reproduced or redistributed.